Snow Activities Abound!

With the cold temps we have been having, the lake is freezing and should be ready for ice fishing and the start of ice racing…yes, there actually is ice racing on the lake.

The ice racing takes place on Saturday afternoons and is on the West Cove of Moosehead Lake.  The cove looks like a parking lot with all the spectators parked on the ice enjoying the race.  The ice usually gets 3 feet thick, so driving trucks and cars is commonplace.

I have tried to photograph the ice races in previous years, but my simple diital camera could never catch the action.  This year, I hope to be more successful with my new Sony DSLR a380 which is capable of capturing action shots.  I am just beginning to experiment with it.  The pictures below are some of my first attempts.  Let us know what you think.

With the large amount of snow forecasted, I am hoping to also get some great snow shots…the only issue will be how to get to the road if we get as much snow as they are forecasting.  I hope it isn’t windy so the snow will just be “floating” down and I will be able to take advantage of it.

All of our guests have arrived safely and have enjoyed the sunny (although very cold) day today.  We are very happy that the wind has stopped!

We hope everyone has a very happy, healthy New Year!!

Oh, Christmas Tree

Oh, Christmas Tree!

Christmas Cheer

Christmas Cheer

Santa

Santa

nutcrackers

Some of Terry's Nutcrackers

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thegreenvilleinn.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/snow-activities-abound/trackback/

